ASPI Awards

ASPI offers two awards each year, enabling members to honor the achievements of their customers. These awards not only provide recognition for the recipient but promote ASPI’s mission of supporting industry performance.

Recognize Your Customer

Nominations are open for the 2024 ASPI awards. This is an excellent opportunity to recognize one of your customers who has achieved outstanding results at their facility or company. 

ASPI Customer Executive of the Year Award

This award is the highest honor ASPI can bestow on an individual, and it is granted to a paper industry executive who has demonstrated extraordinary effectiveness in working with a range of suppliers to enhance productivity, efficiency, and effectiveness of his or her company.

Past recipients include: 

2024- Steve Henry, President of Paper and Packaging for Paper Excellence Group, Domtar
2023- Clay Ellis, Senior Vice President, Enterprise Operational Excellence, International Paper
2022- Matt Szymanski, Vice President Mill Operations, Green Bay Packaging

2019- Michael Garcia, President of Pulp and Paper,Domtar
2018 - Linda Massman, CEO, Clearwater Paper
2017 - Michael Doss, President & CEO, Graphic Packaging
2016 - Steve Voorhees, CEO, WestRock
2015 - Randy Nebel, President, KapStone Kraft Paper Corporation
2014 - Jack Sanders, President and CEO, Sonoco
2013 - Alexander Toeldte, Chairman and CEO, Boise Inc.
2012 - James Rubright, Chairman and CEO, RockTenn
2011 - John Williams, President and CEO, Domtar
2010 - Pat Maley III, President and COO, Temple-Inland

ASPI Excellence in Leadership Award

The ASPI Excellence in Leadership Award honors senior level managers for the unique and creative leadership of their employees and key suppliers during major projects. 

Past recipients include: 

2024- Rusty Miller, SVP Mill Division Engineering and Technology, Graphic Packaging International
2023- Fred Lundy, Senior Vice President Engineering & Manufacturing Services, Westrock
2022 - George Semenak, Vice President, Engineering, Georgia Pacific

2020 - Matt Archambeau, COE/Technology, Verso
2019 - Michael Carroll, Senior Vice President of Innovation,  Georgia Pacific
2018 - Paul O'Bernier, Paper and Board Manufacturing Solutions, International Paper
2017 - Jack Bray, Vice President-Manufacturing Operations, Domtar
2016 - Don Forst, Director-Global Sourcing, International Paper
2015 - Tony Hobson, Vice President and Resident Mill Manager, West Monroe Louisiana Mill, Graphic Packaging
2014 - Paul Duncan, Mill Manager, KapStone Paper
2013 - Sandra L. LeBarron, Director of Environmental, Health & Safety, Finch Paper LLC
2012 - Mike Edwards, Senior Vice-President, Pulp and Paper Manufacturing, Domtar
2010 - William M. “Chip” Shew, Mill Manager-Paper, Packaging and Services, Massillon, Ohio Mill, Greif Inc.